JOHN BURDETT BANGKOK 8 PDF

: Bangkok 8: A Royal Thai Detective Novel (1) (): John Burdett: Books. A thriller with attitude to spare, Bangkok 8 is a sexy, razor-edged, often darkly hilarious novel set in one of the world’s most exotic cities. A thriller with attitude to spare, Bangkok 8 is a sexy, razor-edged, often darkly hilarious novel set in one of the world’s most exotic cities. Witnessed by a throng of.

Author: Zulujin Mikagar
Country: Finland
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Software
Published (Last): 17 February 2013
Pages: 188
PDF File Size: 4.49 Mb
ePub File Size: 10.58 Mb
ISBN: 568-2-24654-204-1
Downloads: 93264
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Momi

James Ellroywho writes the sort of novels I most dislike, calls this book, “The last, most compelling word in thrillers. The novel Platform got me interested in the cultural political economy of sexual tourism, sexual encounter, and the sex service industry. So how is it that a supposedly honest cop, who bangokk his meditation sessions with marijuana, peddles in flesh and pornography, and barely goes through the bangklk of his police duties when not running his mother’s brothel, is supposed to be a spiritualist?

Dec 23, Amanda rated it liked it Shelves: This sounds more like “May God bless him. Okay, okay, I know even among us Thais, there are still some people who believe in this concept.

He is at once hilarious, poignant and Buddha-obsessed, a man not simply caught between two cultural worlds, but two metaphysical ones, bangkoo well: I will be back to re-write this when I’m a bit less enraged. While this is To tell the truth, I expected some piece of pulp fiction type with prose in the vein of Chandler or Hammett. Please read it with an open mind. Looking for More Great Reads?

  BRAHMANAND BHAJAN MALA PDF

This book does not measure up to Colin Cotterill’s Dr. babgkok

John Burdett

Please email webmaster fantasticfiction. Want to Read saving….

I did enjoy the refe Barely 2 stars. Thais are famous for smiling a lot and Thailand is sometimes called the Land of Smiles — but the smile is not without its ambiguity.

Lots of references to sex and the sex trade, but we are never invited to witness any.

I think the cover of this edition does it justice, as the night life of Bangkok has a decided influence. The murder mystery genre is not one that I usually enjoy, but I couldn’t resist the setting–Thailand. That’s pretty much the whole of the book. Lo and behold, the local library had a copy. Inspired by Your Browsing History. This page was last edited on 22 Februaryat He’s not an anti-hero, he’s just a self-obsessed low-lifer, regardless of whatever spiritual trappings the dime-store novel level author attempts to clothe him in.

What sets him apart from other cops in Bangkok is his worldliness and his dedication to being an “arhat”, a Buddhist well on the path to enlightenment. Completely different style but every bit as engaging. Nov 08, Jessica rated it really liked it Shelves: As if some sort of insider-trading scoop on Buddhist spirituality.

The situations are pretty raw but seem to portray real life in the sex-oriented tourist areas of Thailand. But they are still harassing me. I thought the murderer was obvious pretty early on, so I probably would not have kept reading except that this was a bookclub selection. You’re either a fan of Thai prostitutes and that whole scene, or you’re not.

  KEMBALINYA MONA GERSANG PDF

Stating the obvious

I’m sure there are better fictional sources for learning about contemporary Thai culture and, for that reason, Bangkik won’t be continuing with the other books in the series. Whereas Houellebecq,s Platform is told from a white, French, European point of view, Burdett — who is a relocated Englishman — writes from a Thai point of view.

In a city fueled by illicit drugs and infinite corruption, prostitution and priceless art, Sonchai’s quest for vengeance takes him into a world much more sinister than he could have ever imagined. Want to Read Currently Reading Read. He burvett the son of a former ” rented-wife ” a type of prostitute and a ” farang.

Book Review – Bangkok 8 by John Burdett

They centre on the philosophical Thai Buddhist detective, Sonchai Jitpleecheep, and his meditative internal jonn. And it’s not that I’m a prude about such things. For the Australian politician, see John Burdett politician. The things that happen are cliche and exaggerated the way a bad action movie would be.

Everything meant to shock failed: